# Friday, 23 January 2009

I was working on a service recently (pretty cool actually, it is a Windows Service that hosts a WCF Web Service) and I was fiddling with it and installing and uninstalling it, and I was getting frustrated. I couldn’t install the new version because it already existed. I couldn’t uninstall it because it was “marked for deletion” whatever that means. I found a knowledge base article which suggested rebooting my machine. Sure, that’s no trouble at all. Grr. Then I found Avner Kashtan’s blog entry. I can’t believe the simple fix he provides. And it WORKS! Go on, read it there. You’ll thank me.

Kate

Friday, 23 January 2009 22:16:36 (Eastern Standard Time, UTC-05:00)  #    Comments [2]
Tuesday, 27 January 2009 01:09:51 (Eastern Standard Time, UTC-05:00)
I ran into the exact same thing just a couple of days ago. Seems like it would be a simple thing that if a service is marked for deletion that you could just be politely remind you to close the services window. Oh well.
John Whitaker
Thursday, 17 February 2011 15:56:11 (Eastern Standard Time, UTC-05:00)
Thanks so much. Crazy bug! :)
Kumar
Comments are closed.